Trike on tour

This weekend saw us take the Scorpion on its first mini-tour.  Two days of ca. 40 miles over the fells of the Forest of Bowland to Lancaster.

.

.

.

Out via Slaidburn and High Bentham, and past the source of my favourite river, The Hodder.

.

.

.

A view here from above Harrop Fold looking over to the fells of the Forest of Bowland.

.

.

.

.

Great weather for October.

.

.

.

It appears I make the perfect bike stand when my wife wants to get off to take photo’s.  Well at least I brought my own deck-chair so I was good and comfy whilst I waited!

Our route back was via Sustrans route 6, Abbeystead and the Dunsop Bridge (the centre of the kingdom)

What a great two days it was, and made all the more enjoyable for being on a recumbent.  Going down the Trough of Bowland with your rear six inches from the road is a most exhilarating experience.  It is true that going up hill was a little harder (akin to being on a tandem with a fit partner) but my speed was matched to the other half, so no time was lost.  I was more inclined to stop and wait for her too, partly because being physically laid back imparts that attitude and partly because I had brought my own deck chair to sit on and soak up the rays.

About westonfront

Random thoughts on life and the world from the perpective of a God-fearing, outdoor-loving, technically minded, drum-thumping neo-Lancastrian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trike on tour

  1. Brian Clark says:

    You certainly picked the right weekend

Leave a Reply

